Saturday’s here once again, and it’s been awhile since I baked something for myself to keep my sugar cravings at bay. In all honesty, I am trying to cut down on desserts altogether, but what’s life without a little cheating once in a while? So, I present a brownie recipe that I found some time ago, and made it my own. I adjusted the ingredients to bring out more of the cocoa flavour and less of the sweet. Feel free to make your own amendments to it, but I can guarantee you that it’ll be hard to stop at just one square! 😉

Ingredients:

189585_10151147332595289_1111293959_n
Semi-melted chocolate within moist chocolate-y goodness. Now that’s how you enjoy the weekend!
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • 3/4 cup of cocoa powder*
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 3/4 cup of butter (melted)
  • 3/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips/nibs*

*Note: Because I’ve reduced the original amount of sugar (by half!), I recommend using very high quality chocolate for this recipe. I have a preference for dark chocolate, so that’s my go-to choice of chocolate chips/nibs.

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/325F and sift the flour.
  2. Then, in a large mixing bowl, combine the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, eggs and melted butter and combine well. I usually use an electric mixer for this to get the consistency even.
  3. Next, add in the chocolate chips/nibs. Stir well.
  4. Line a 9″x13″ baking dish with parchment/wax paper and pour all the batter in. Spread it evenly until the entire pan is evenly covered.
  5. Pop the dish in the oven for 20-30 minutes. To check if the brownies are done, stick a toothpick in and it should come out clean. I recommend waiting for it to cool before cutting it into squares.

I hope you enjoy your weekend, and don’t sweat too much over the calories! There’s always the next workout to fix that right up!

Love,

Wani

Leave a Reply

