You can take this as a follow-up post to my earlier ‘Why I Stay Away from Gyms’ piece. Today I finally made it to the gym because my partner didn’t have classes during the day, which meant that I would, at least, have someone to share the torment with. Okay, I know I shouldn’t put it that way – but still, today’s visit solidified my stand on this issue for sure.

It was lightly raining when I headed out and a small part of me hoped that the weather would keep people away from the gym. I was sorely wrong. It was packed with pre-pubescent boys who had just ended school (or were already on their school break) and collecting dumbbells by their benches like they were gold bars.

What made it worse was that they were flexing and idling around more than anything, which meant that the weights area was full. You can see where I’m going with this. I was close to giving up after only getting in about 30 minutes of cardio on the elliptical and treadmill (doing interval training, of course), when I decided to not give a damn and just take whatever weights I needed and bring it to the other side of the gym, which is typically used for mat work.

I think I’m the only person who usually does this, because either every meathead in there wants/needs to face the mirror to perfect his form (i.e. admire his physique) or no one’s actually allowed to use the weights other than in that allocated weights area. I really don’t care either way, as you can tell.

So there I was trying to get my workout complete as quickly as I could, and I notice this particular scrawny boy hoarding 5 or 6 various weights by his bench and rolling up his sleeves to flex REPEATEDLY instead of putting those weights to good use. Boy, I think I have bigger guns than you. Hell, I think my quads are double the size of your arm.

I’m not hating on body image, but it irritates me terribly when people go to the gym to spend more time admiring themselves in the mirror than actually getting some damn work done. Not all of us have the luxury of 4 or 5 hours to wait on you just to use a machine/bench/weight for barely 10 minutes. Focus, sweat heard, then move on.

Okay, end of rant. Anyway, the only positive thing I got out of today’s gym visit was that I realised the strength in my shoulders have improved and I can definitely lift heavier now. 🙂 I’ll probably only go when my partner’s free, because I’ve been doing fine working out at home/outdoors anyway, and I cannot imagine how I’d ever put up with inconsiderate people like the ones I witnessed today.

*DEEP BREATH IN, EXHALE*. Much better.

Love,

Wani

Leave a Reply

