I unintentionally took a month off from writing here, mostly because I was away in Sweden with family for two weeks, and I was burying my nose in work and my personal life. But now that Buzzfeed is celebrating Body Positivity week, there’s no way in hell I wouldn’t give my two cents’ worth! πŸ˜‰

As someone who has constantly struggled with body image and self-love, and also been the target of body shaming – right from when I was a little girl, up till adulthood – I would say I’m very familiar when it comes to the topic of loving/hating your body.

I am happy to say that these days I am the fittest I’ve been all my life, and I’m finding more reasons to love my body for what it can do rather than what it looks like. I still have days where I find the reflection in the mirror a tad upsetting, but I reassure myself by telling myself that I’ve come so far from the days of being a chubby girl who was horrified at the sight of that vacation photo, which marked the start of my fitness and weight loss journey. It’s roughly been about 4 years since then.

I chose to share this particular video from Buzzfeed because I totally get why a compliment on someone’s weight loss may not necessarily always be taken the right way. It’s because no one knows the struggle, the bad days and the personal dilemmas that someone has had to fight through to come out 10 or 20 pounds lighter. Was the weight loss really because of personal motivation? Was it for vanity’s sake? Was it because of social pressure? Was it due to medical conditions or medications? NO ONE WOULD KNOW EXCEPT THEM.

And that’s why telling someone they look like they’ve lost weight may not always be well-received, even if your intentions are good. Instead, if you wish to compliment someone on their looks (because dang, they deserve it!), try telling them their outfit looks really flattering or that they seem exceptionally chirpy that day or compliment/thank them for something they’ve done to make your day better. The whole point is to take away the focus on their SIZE, because honestly, IT DOESN’T MATTER. Sure, they probably have lost a ton of weight but unless you know them super well (like eternal BFFs), making them feel special about WHO they are will make them feel tons better than WHAT they look like.

I don’t want to ramble on, because I know I can when it comes to body image issues, so I’ll leave you here. I’d love to hear your thoughts, if you have any. And please, please, please, know that you are so much more than those numbers on the scale. I know it’s hard to accept, but that’s the truth. πŸ™‚ Enjoy the video!

Love,
Wani xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

