I’m going to be honest; the closest thing I do that’s considered yoga is me practicing my inversions after my own HIIT workout. I’m not really a fan of going for yoga classes per se, and I think the biggest reason is because I think it’s not really my thing. I’ve tried bikran yoga several times, and after several trial classes I realised I just got bored of the monotony.

I mean, kudos to those who do practice yoga religiously – it’s not easy mastering those poses when you’re not very flexible or strong. But I’m just more inclined to active, hyper boot camp-style stuff.

So, why am I sharing this nugget of information that fell into into my inbox? Because I think it’s an awesome way to get yoga virgins off their bum and be part of a community of yoga enthusiasts from around the world. Pure Yoga will be celebrating International Day of Yoga with an International #YogaRelay on 21 June, with a 24-hour relay involving 5 cities from New York to Asia.

SG_without baton

According to the official press release, “the annual day recognises the 5,000 year-old Indian practice for its holistic benefits, not only as an accessible and inclusive exercise to promote physical and spiritual well-being, but also for the promotion of harmony and peaceful relationships”. Uniting 610 yoga instructors, the 24-hour event will see itself run from 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. (GMT+8) in Asia, followed by New York from 7 a.m. – 8 p.m. (EDT). Hong Kong will start off the #YogaRelay at 8 a.m. (GMT+8) followed by Taiwan, Shanghai, Singapore, with the last leg of the relay ending at 8 p.m. (EDT) in New York.
On our shores in Singapore, the sessions will be as follows:
Tuesday, 21 June 2016, Pure Yoga – Ngee Ann City
  • 5 p.m. – 6 p.m.
    Session 1: Vinyasa with Arun
  • 6 p.m. – 7 p.m.
    Session 2: Hot Hatha with Jacque
  • 7 p.m. – 8 p.m.
    Session 3: Hatha with Arun

If you’re keen to test the yoga waters with this free event, book a mat by calling +65 6733 8863 (Pure Yoga – Ngee Ann City) or +65 6304 2268 (Pure Yoga – Chevron House)!

Needless to say, there’ll be promos and contests running concurrently with this event, but I will not bore you with the nitty gritty details. If you’re a curious cat, head to www.pure-yoga.com or their official Facebook page for more information leading up to the event.

So, the question is, will I be partaking in the event myself? I haven’t decided, but it’s definitely got my interest piqued, so who knows – I might just be your mat neighbour. And if I am, please do say ‘hello’ and give me a friendly wave! 🙂

Love,

Wani xoxo

2 thoughts on “Pure Yoga Does #YogaRelay

Leave a Reply

